Billy's Travel Album

Welcome. Sit Back, Relax and Enjoy.

30 Comments

  1. Hamburg und Mee(h)r

    Hi Billy,
    what you are describing was my fear to take photos out of focus etc. when I traveled to Tromso this year for the Northern Lights.
    I booked a tour with a professional photographer and it was worth every single penny. I am glad I did so.
    If you visit Tromso for Aurora Borealis book a Tour with Vidar of http://www.creativevacations.no He and his wife are very nice people and you will
    learn a lot.
    Anyway I like your photo very much πŸ˜‰
    Cheers Angela πŸ™‚
    N.B. try http://www.leo.org for translations. This is a good and easy site πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • Travel Billy

      Hi Angela,

      Thanks! Yes I think focusing is tricky especially when your foreground object is very near you. I did book with photographers (in fact, I did book with Vidar when I was in Tromso!) or otherwise I am sure I won’t be able to take even this photo! Still I don’t why even on the camera the picture looked perfectly focused, it was actually not. 😦

      BTW, if you love aurora, I strongly recommend you to give Abisko a try. It was much less developed and colder (!) than Tromso but it has a better weather. I booked with a photographer called Peter RosΓ©n and he was excellent. He drove us to the wilderness using snowmobile and set up a Sami tent there, not only for shelter, but also as an object for composition. Indeed if you use Canon gear, all you need to bring is an SD card as he provides cameras and tripods as well!

      Reply
    • Travel Billy

      Thanks. If you are going to see it, I’d strongly recommend you to get a photographer with you. See the comments above for some recommendations.

      Reply
  2. Tina Schell

    You are much too hard on yourself. The photo is stunning and creates a wonderful emotional response in the viewer, which is what it’s all about – not how perfectly focused the shot is or isn’t. Perfect choice for the challenge, well done!

    Reply
    • Travel Billy

      Many thanks for the encouragement. Yes even though technically this picture is not as good as I want, I do think the shape of the aurora was perfect. Also feeling not satisfied for the photo quality did give me a reason to go to see it again! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

